top of page

READ TESTIMONIALS FROM VOLUNTEERS

"The superb organisation of Open Minds made it perfect for my full on time table with the planning sessions being in the evening and having complete control over which day I could teach in school. Open Minds provided me with the opportunity to develop my own knowledge of mental health disorders and to gain experience in lesson planning and teaching while being enjoyable as this was done in teams. It was my most rewarding experience at university seeing the students having great fun while learning about mental health which might radically benefit their or their friend’s life in the future. I cannot wait to return this year to the fabulous volunteers to help with this vital cause!"

- SUNSHINE

"I’ve really enjoyed volunteering for Open Minds this year. The sessions were very interesting, and I gained a lot in terms of creative thinking and organisational ability from planning the lessons. It was rewarding to know that I had potentially made a difference to these students by increasing awareness for mental health and reducing the stimulus attached to it."

- ELLA

"OpenMinds has been a huge part of my university experience. My lack of a mental health education, whilst at school, prompted me to join as a volunteer in its first year. Leading, as project coordinator, in its second year allowed me to get a better understanding of the impact the project has, not only on the students we deliver to but also to the volunteers we train. Having spoken to students and teachers alike, I can attest to the success of our volunteers in fulfilling our aims as a project. Namely to raise awareness and reduce stigma. OpenMinds would be nothing without its dedicated committees and the volunteers that support us. They have made the whole project such a rewarding project to be involved in and I will follow its successes as it moves forward."

- ANOJAN

"I wanted to share how humbling it was to be part of the founding committee. Raising awareness of mental health amongst school adolescents may have been the idea of a few but it took a great team of enthusiastic volunteers and a hard working committee to bring to fruition. Anyone involved in OpenMinds York, from organisers to students, is sure to gain something worthwhile. Such as lesson planning, presentation skills and even a deeper understanding of the sorts of challenges mental illness poses to different individuals."

- NOUR

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page